EDSS Calculator
EDSS = 0
Visual Functions
Brainstem Functions
Pyramidal Functions
Cerebellar Functions
Sensory Functions
Bowel/bladder Functions
Cerebral Functions
Ambulation Score
About EDSS

The Expanded Disability Status Scale (EDSS) is a method of quantifying disability in multiple sclerosis and monitoring changes in the level of disability over time. It is widely used in clinical trials and in the assessment of people with MS.

The scale was developed by a neurologist called John Kurtzke in 1983 as an advance from his previous 10 step Disability Status Scale (DSS).

The EDSS scale ranges from 0 to 10 in 0.5 unit increments that represent higher levels of disability. Scoring is based on an examination by a neurologist.

EDSS steps 1.0 to 4.5 refer to people with MS who are able to walk without any aid and is based on measures of impairment in eight functional systems (FS): Each functional system is scored on a scale of 0 (no disability) to 5 or 6 (more severe disability).

EDSS steps 5.0 to 9.5 are defined by the impairment to walking. The scale is sometimes criticised for its reliance on walking as the main measure of disability.

Reference: Kurtzke JF.Rating neurologic impairment in multiple sclerosis: an expanded disability status scale (EDSS). Neurology 1983;33(11):1444-1452. https://www.mstrust.org.uk/a-z/expanded-disability-status-scale-edss

Calculator: Ambulatory (means at least 500 m of ambulation without assistance, but not unrestricted)

Sources: Kurtzke JF. Rating neurologic impairment in multiple sclerosis: an expanded disability status scale (EDSS).
Neurology. 1983 Nov;33(11):1444-52.
Haber A, LaRocca NG. eds. Minimal Record of Disability for multiple sclerosis. New York: National Multiple Sclerosis Society; 1985.

Abbreviations: EDSS= Expanded Disability Status Scale